Today we got both the point costs for everything finally and the Rules Commentary. We've been kinda needing the latter for a bit now, as there were still a few unanswered questions. The article hosting these already addressed a few. Right off the bat, no. No you do not reduce damage to zero with -1 Damage abilities. We probably all knew this was true, but it just struck me as odd this wasn't in the rules anywhere. We also knew, and I'm pretty sure it was in there somewhere, that rules with the same names wouldn't stack. Apparently there are clarifications for how ruins work too.
Now I'm going to have to potentially have to be weary of spoilers here, but I'm hoping most of this will be more generic rules questions. I'm figuring we'll get FAQs or just updates to each Index as they get addressed. This is one of the beautiful things about a digital ruleset. For now, let's see what questions the community asked, and see what answer the team have for us.
Right off the bat, I'm noticing this is starting off a bit like the rare rules/glossary section from 9th Edition. This should make things easy to reference.
Active Player
A bit surprised this needs clearing up.
Adding Models to a Unit
This works exactly how we knew it would, but it's nice to get the verification that models destroyed this way don't trigger any rules.
Additional Hits
Yep, we knew this was how it would work. GW learned their lesson finally. You don't get to stack free rules on autohits, and that counts for additional hits too.
Affected by a Stratagem
Didn't think this need clarification either, but having it if something comes up is always nice.
I'm still in the "A"s, so I'm gonna start skipping through and noting when an actual point of controversy comes up.
Against (an attack with an 'X' characteristic of 'Y')
Okay! Here's an important timing clarification. These rules nearly always trigger a the start of the Attack Sequence. But! If the rule specifically references the attack's AP or Damage, the parts of an attack that would affect a specific model, they trigger during the Allocate Attack step.
Army
There's a slight change here that should be noted. In previous editions of the game, sometime a unit that was added to your army didn't count as being a part of any detachment or even your army. For now, it definitely counts as being a part of your army. We'll see if there's a clarification for detachment, but since detachments are an army rule I'd say added units get detachment rules unless this document says otherwise.
As Close as Possible
Okay! This one is interesting and is probably here to curtail some shenanigans. The first part didn't need explaining. "As Close as Possible" obviously means base to base. The second part is important though. If you're instructed by a rule to move models "As Close as Possible" and a model is already as close as possible/base to base, you do not move that model. No sliding a model around while still staying "as close as possible". That model also counts as having moved.
Attached Units with Multiple Characters (no more than two)
I mentioned this coming up in an interview, but you can only attach up to two Characters to Lead a unit no matter any other rules.
Automatically Successful
Again, we saw this coming. You're not rolling a dice, so you can't Crit and can't trigger rules on crits. This also is part of why Torrent weapons still auto-hit in Overwatch.
Base-to-Base Contact
Again, this should have been obvious but I know there were some questions about this. If two models are touching, they're in Base-to-Base Contact. Whether that's our Hormagaunts still spilling over their bases, or a Defiler's claws coming in contact with another model, it's all Base-to-Base Contact (and As Close as Possible).
Batteline if . . .:
Although the timing in the rules is weird, if you're going to have a specific unit become your Warlord, you get to take units specified in their rules as Battle-line, even though they're not your Warlord yet.
Battle-shock
Okay, wow! You can fail multiple Battle-shock tests! If a unit has to take a Battle-shock test, and they're already Battle-shocked, they still take the test. Passing the test or failing the test still triggers rules that apply. So a Daemon unit that is Battle-shocked in their Shadow of Chaos will heal if they're forced to take a Battle-shock test and pass it. They are still Battle-shocked.
Below Starting Strength (with a Starting Strength of 1)
Wait, what? Why wasn't this just in the rules then, silly? And why'd you included clarifications on some rules and not others? Good to know I guess; my Psychophage is really happy about this.
Critical Hit
Okay, I hadn't thought or heard of this but it's good to have cleared up. In Overwatch you can only score a Critical Hit with a roll of a 6.
Consolidating (without moving)
Hah! So that's a weird one, but still makes sense. If your models can't make a Consolidation move, they still Consolidated and trigger any rules there. But! They did not move, and don't trigger any rules there.
Deep Strike (and Strategic Reserves)
Okay, cool! I wasn't sure about this one. It's good to know that if you put a model with Deep Strike in Strategic Reserves during a game it still gets to Deep Strike.
Eligible Target (no longer eligible)
It's good to know we're keeping this rule. This isn't Magic. Shots from guns don't fizzle.
Eligible to Shoot (when not equipped with ranged weapons)
Hah! Okay, I honestly wasn't expecting this one. A model without ranged weapons is still eligible to shoot for rules purposes if it meets all other requirements.
Fight on Death
Interesting point of timing, but Fight on Death occurs before the attacking unit Consolidates. This is a Fight, so as in the next point, the models Pile In. They do not, however, Consolidate but are instead destroyed at that point.
Keywords
As expected, a Unit has all the Keywords of the individual models in the Unit. So an Attached Unit with a Character in it has the Character Keyword.
Moving Over Terrain Features When Flying
Grahghl! Why wasn't this just in the book! I was convinced you wanted Flying units to interact with Terrain Features! But nope! We can still fly over them! Good news for my flying units though.
Null Characteristics
Pretty sure this is the same way it's been done in the past. You just use Toughness instead.
Piles In
Same as consolidate. Your unit always counts as having Piled In, but if it doesn't move it doesn't count as moving.
Priority of Rules
If two rules cancel each other or otherwise logically conflict, we have two priorities for them. The first is if an Attacking models has a rule that conflicts with a Defending model's rule, the Attacking model's rule is used and the Defending model's rule is ignored. When it comes to reinforcements, when a rule allows a model to arrive where it normally couldn't, clashes with a rule that stops a model from arriving normally, the rule that restricts the model wins.
Redeploy
Sorry to everyone that was hoping you might get to redeploy after knowing who is going first, this is still a part of deployment. I'm guessing GW is trying to prevent players from deploying aggressively for alpha strikes.
Repositioned Units
Oh wow! You can reposition a unit even if it arrived from Reinforcements or otherwise Moved! I'm genuinely surprised by this! I'm less surprised that you can't use these rules to skip Battle-shock. They test when they arrive.
Replacement Units
You can use these rules for units that have arrived from Reinforcements or otherwise moved, too. Although that made more sense, as it's technically a new unit.
Returning Models to Unit
Returned Leaders join back up with their Attached Unit unless they were otherwise separated.
Scores a Wound
This is clarified to be when a successful Wound roll has been allocated to the target. An attack that is Saved or has its Damage ignored still counts as Scoring a Wound.
Shoot Again
Although it's not well called out, these rules allow a unit, model, or weapon to Shoot one additional time. So you can only ever shoot twice.
Suffers Damage
Similar to Scoring a Wound, a model Suffers Damage if the attack sequence reaches the Inflict Damage step. Even if that Damage is later prevented, such as through a FNP, the model has still Suffered Damage.
Treated As (dice roll)
Although I know there is some contention here, a dice roll that is treated as something counts as it for all rules purposes. So a dice roll treated as an unmodified 6 to hit is a Critical Hit.
Unit Champion
Okay, this one is new too. If a unit has multiple models that can qualify as a Unit Champion, you select one of those models before the battle. Basically any model that has a leader listed in the Unit Composition, such as Neurogaunt Nodebeast, has a Unit Champion even if there is more than one. If it doesn't have a model listed like this, it has no Unit Champion.
Unit's Save or Toughness Characteristic
Interesting! With Deathwatch, when two Toughness's are tied for most common, you use the better one. And that's how it works here too. But with rules that refer to a unit's Save Characteristic, if two are tied the controlling player gets to pick. Weird.
Warlord (must be/cannot be)
Here we have two rare interactions and how they're resolved. The first one makes sense but the second one needed to be stated. If two models in your army must be your Warlord, you get to pick. But if one rule says a model must be your Warlord, and another rule says that model can't be your Warlord, that model can't be your Warlord.
Wounds
Similar to Scores a Wound, an attack Wounds a target if the Wound roll is successful.
Modifying Characteristics
We have our caps! Some of these are surprising. Listed quickly:
- Strength: Never below 1.
- Toughness: Never below 1.
- Attacks: Never below 1.
- Damage: Can never be reduced to less than 1, but can be set to 0.
- Leadership: No better than 4+, no worse than 9+.
- Armor Penetration: Never below 0.
- Objective Control: Never below 0.
- Move: Never below 1"
- Range: Never below 1"
In addition, abilities of "20+", "-", or "N/A" can never be modified. Also, to my surprise, mortal wounds are not reduce. This does not apply to weapons doing fewer mortal wounds due to a reduction in Damage before DEVASTATING WOUNDS is applied. In that case the Damage has been modified.
Modifying Dice Rolls
A dice roll can strangely be modified above a 6, but it cannot be modified below a 1.
No comments:
Post a Comment